Strategic Board

Strategic members commit to the vision of our Maths Hub by providing:

  • capacity and credibility to enable us collectively to identify and respond to regional needs and priorities
  • strategic leadership that focuses on pupils’ mathematical skills and achievement
  • quality support for teachers and mathematics leaders to ensure that this focus brings significant impact across their schools
  • a focus on the essential practices that support the improvement of mathematics education
  • a lead on national innovation and collaboration projects
  • access to broad networks beyond each of our own individual networks such that every school in our region can access all that our maths hub offers
  • a research engaged and research informed approach to mathematics education
  • quality assurance and evaluation of the impact of all our maths hub activities

The geographical area we cover is Amber Valley, Bolsover, Chesterfield, Derby, Derbyshire Dales, Erewash, North East Derbyshire, Nottingham, South Derbyshire, Ashfield and Broxtowe Local Authority Districts, however we continue to work in collaboration with East Midlands East, East Midlands South and South Yorkshire Maths Hubs to meet the needs of all schools across the region.

Board Member


Dave Berry

Secondary Maths Lead

Tom Bennison

East Midlands West Maths Hub

Doug Drake

Lincolnshire TSA

Tracey Dundas

Altius Derbyshire TSA

Sara George

Derbyshire Partnership for Learning TSA

Catherine Gripton

East Midlands West Maths Hub / University of Nottingham

Andrea Hughes

4Derbyshire Alliance

Tom Isherwood

East Midlands West Maths Hub / Flying High Trust

Alan Kealy

Matrix TSA

Robin Kearsley Bullen

Nottingham Trent University

Paul Litowczuk

Derbyshire LA

Mary-Alice Lloyd

Independent Chair

Ryan Metters

East Midlands West Maths Hub / Spencer Academies Trust

Phil Herd

Transform TSA

Mark Simmons

University of Nottingham

Ria Symonds

Further Maths Support Programme

Shobha Tynan

Landau Forte Trust

Margaret Young



Our strategic partners are: